New Macbook Priced Out of Market

October 15, 2008


I can’t begin to tell you how long I have been looking forward to the new Macbooks. I’ve been using the same iBook G4 that my old boss gave me (as a hand-me-down meant for his 6-year old son) since the beginning of 2007, waiting for this update. I checked Mac rumors and blogs every day, hoping to see how big of a jump this generation could be. I’m not blown away with what they’ve done. I’m most excited about the addition of a real graphics card, which should make the Macbook comparable to most PC notebooks in its price range, but probably not competitive though. How is the new notebook worth $200 more than the old one? And this leads me to my greatest outrage with this Apple update: this unibody construction is overrated, that’s not even a word, and the entry-level book is now $200 more than it was last month, $300 more today (because they’re still selling that antique). I had been planning to buy the new Macbook on October 14 for the past six months, but now I don’t know if it’s worth its weight in dollar bills.

War on Drugs – Taking the Farm

The Toadies – What We Have We Steal

Leave a Reply

