The Most Popular of 2008

January 19, 2009

img_0198ps
Ok, so no matter how much I try I can’t get my mind off of posting lists. I lie awake late at night or in boring afternoons and just think about ways to order things. It may be the easy way out, but to be honest I’m still not done catching up on everything from last year. The Hypemachine has relieved iTunes from running its daily marathon.

I was a little premature in publishing my list of 6 best albums when I hadn’t given myself to find 10 that I loved, in a year where that should not have been as hard as it was. And sometimes, to be honest, I think I hide embarassing songs or favorites to look cool–well, no more! To honor this commitment, I submit to you the unadultered* list of my most played songs released in 2008. This will exclude songs from 2007, even if they were more popular, and have obvious inclination towards early releases.

Laugh all you want… if there’s something worth laughing about.

10. Vampire Weekend – Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa
9. The Ting Tings – We Walk
8. The Ting Tings – Great DJ
7. MGMT – Weekend Wars
6. Jenny Lewis – Acid Tongue
5. Meiko – How Lucky We Are
4. Santogold – L.E.S. Artistes
3. MGMT – Kids
1. Hot Chip – We’re Looking for a Lot of Love
1. MGMT – Electric Feel

Songs that I was rooting for, but just didn’t quite make it: Thao – Beat (Health, Life and Fire), CSS – Move, Brazilian Girls – St Petersburg.

*Yes I know this isn’t a word.

One Response to “The Most Popular of 2008”

  1. Ke Says:

    Not laughing at all. I love most of these… I just have yet to hear Meiko’s HLWA but Meiko ^_^ If only I could make more lists.

    Electric Feeelll


Leave a Reply

