Lykke Li at the Varsity

February 9, 2009

img_0256blog

What is happening to live music? In just the last week, the E Street Band mimed their Superbowl performance, and TV on the Radio performed as a washed-out mess on SNL. SNL is notoriously bad on sound, and TVOTR seems like an impossible act to mic properly, but that doesn’t make it less awesome to see someone put on a great-sounding live show.

Lykke Li is an enthralling stage personality. While some acts are miming, lip-syncing and doing rehearsed choreography it’s refreshing to see someone do a good show and a good concert at the same time. A couple of simultaneously hilarious and sweet covers to go with a well-timed Southern Baptist Preacher impersonation brought her only full-length release to life.

img_0280blog

A few songs sounded better in person than on the record: “Breaking it Up” was definitely the highlight of the show, and “Let it Fall” was great. The sample skipped during “Complaint Department” but the band adroitly got back on stage to play it through, while Lykke Li sung on like nothing had happened. Li did the swell covers she’s been doing throughout this tour, A Tribe Called Quest’s “Can I Kick It,” Lil’ Wayne’s “A Milli” and Kings of Leon’s “Knocked Up.” Altogether she’s just a fantastic performer.


It’s been too long since I’ve seen a show. It’s time for spring to begin and hibernation to end. While several friends bailed on this show, I met some cool people who shared my affection for small Swedish singers that purse their lips.

Here is probably my favorite Lykke Li video: Breaking it Up.

Breaking it up – alternative live video. Filmed by: Christian Haag from Lykke Li on Vimeo.

9 Responses to “Lykke Li at the Varsity”

  1. mistersilva74 Says:

    I like her a lot and I think her album Youth Novel (I think that’s the name) was a great surprise. Never seen her live though…shame on me!

    If you have time, check my blog. Some music there you might like.

    Take care!

  2. geoff Says:

    mistersilva74, I’d check you out if only you’d left me your address.

  3. Ke Says:

    You saw Lykke Li! :D!

    Aw, you got to hear her perform her cover of “Knocked Up” 😦 In DC, we just saw her perform “Can I Kick It,” and “A Milli.” Jealous, but definitely definitely glad you got to go see her in concert ❤ I honestly did not expect her concert to be as amazing as it was.

    Great pictures, by the way!


  4. yeahhhh!
    never heard any lykke li until my friend turned me on to both her and black cab sessions. are you out of new york? ill be sure to keep an eye on your blog
    -bren

  5. geoff Says:

    I used to be in ny, but now I’m just floating a bit. This has frequently been a point of confusion, I know. Indeed, we were very lucky to see all three of her popular covers.

  6. westwood Says:

    This blog is a breath of fresh air.

    I need a new music source, you could be it. Lykke Li is rather stellar, that’s for sure.

  7. Roshan Says:

    I saw her play in Sydney last month and she was an awesome performer, which was great because ‘Youth Novels’ was one of my favourite albums of last year.

  8. Roshan Says:

    And we got the Kings of Leon cover too….yay

  9. geoff Says:

    thanks guys, agreed, she is steller.


Leave a Reply

