Two Weeks, and an Homage to Le Ballon Rouge

May 15, 2009

Just came across this beautiful, yet unofficial, video to the new Grizzly Bear single “Two Weeks.” It reminds me of my own dusty memories of Le Ballon Rouge and makes me want to find the box that the book is buried inside. The images of the extraordinarily rotund red balloon, and its fat rope for a string, are so familiar that they feel like a part of my own childhood. Plus, I used to dress like that.

Wait… I still dress like that.

Pitchfork says: “It’s not afraid to be pretty; unapologetically retro and baroque, “Two Weeks” sort of crawls by like a gloriously ornate float in an Easter parade.”

I wouldn’t compare it to an Easter float, but I would say I’ve never enjoyed Grizzly Bear this much.

le ballon

And now a remix featuring Dead Prez.

2 Responses to “Two Weeks, and an Homage to Le Ballon Rouge

  1. Ke Says:

    “Le Ballon Rouge” Ha!
    I had no idea Grizzly Bears had a new single out. Oh my gosh, I wish this was the official video! Gosh, Pitchfork is definitely correct. The feeling the song gives makes me think of black and white movies, which I actually remember watching! Aw. ❤

    You used to dress like you were in the UK and had a British accent? :O

    Great song, as always. I need to get it soon.

  2. Ke Says:

    HA! I just realized how it’s been out since like 2008… and that’s how far behind I really am. That’s just sad. The album seems to be out, so I can get the whole thing!


Leave a comment