Summer Sounds Mixtape I

June 25, 2009


More than any other season, summer seems to naturally grow into its own soundtrack. This kind of natural association that forms between a track or album and a time was the primary motivation for this blog when it began. I really can’t explain why summer is the most likely season to become its own musical genre, maybe it’s major chords, or maybe it’s just sunshine.

So here it is, with as little pretense as possible, after all, a mixtape like this makes itself.

Grizzly Bear and Dead Prez – Two Weeks of Hip-Hop (The Hood Internet Mash-up)
Dirty Projectors – Stillness is the Move
YACHT – Psychic City
The Hundred in the Hands – Dressed in Dresden
Phoenix – Lisztomania (Classixx Remix)
Passion Pit – The Reeling
Santigold – Lights Out (Tepr Emo Remix)
Kleerup featuring Lykke Li – Until We Bleed
Camera Obscura – French Navy
St Vincent – The Party
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll

Sorry about all the linking around, it’s just that a playlist this big doesn’t play well with drop.io.

2 Responses to “Summer Sounds Mixtape I”

  1. Ke Says:

    I completely adore your summer mixtape, especially Psychic City! Most of these already existed in my mixtape but I added St. Vincent, Grizzly Bear mashup, and Dirty Projectors (because I didn’t add that before). Great job and thank you!

  2. geoff Says:

    I didn’t think I was really going out far enough on a limb with these, but maybe for the next one I’ll find some surprises.


Leave a Reply

