I Don’t Need A Sample, I’ve Got

July 25, 2009

This is how I imagine recording a fresh track must look like. Everyone recording their channels together, dancing around the studio and improvising lyrics as they go: “I don’t need a sample, I’ve got a girl with a banjo.” From the very beginning–the girls singing the sampled vocal–it’s immediately jubilant, in the same way that this now-famous Minnesota couple’s wedding is. Everyone is just so fucking happy. Where Nyle surpasses Chris Brown is [not in girlfriend beatings, but] in the way the song builds. The increasing layers of instrumentation and Nyle’s vocal crescendo make it bigger and more exciting as it goes on. That is after all what you expect from a song titled “Let the Beat Build.”

The sample, if you didn’t immediately recognize it is from the Lil’ Wayne song of the same name, which is really from the Eddie Kendricks song “Day By Day.” The Lil’ Wayne song is one of my favorites from Tha Carter III, but this cover (so to speak) has a different energy, partly because of the video, but mostly because the lyrics just feel more inspired.

7 Responses to “I Don’t Need A Sample, I’ve Got”

  1. Ke Says:

    Wow, that felt way too short, which is awesome. I actually have yet to hear Carter III so I had no idea that the sample was from that song. This is still amazing, lol

    As for the wedding video, why Chris Brown? Why?

  2. geoff Says:

    The only possible explanation for why they chose it, is that the song is titled “Forever.” Not the most careful choice probably.

    What would you have picked Ke?

  3. MJ Says:

    Hey Geoff! Nice blog! I heard about the music video you posted from some friends that played in it. . .2 of the three violinists and the 2 cellists. I appreciate the fact that Nyle employs actual musicians rather than using synthesized sounds like so many other “artists” do.

  4. geoff Says:

    MJ that’s pretty neat that your friends are the strings in the video. They look like they’re having a pretty great time.

  5. Ke Says:

    Well, I guess then I can’t complain, since I’d personally want a song chosen. I am one of those indecisive people and if I’m marrying the person, I assume we have similar or tolerable taste.

    It is just, Chris Brown is just catchy and even then, I am not a fan of him as a person, so it would seem pretty odd playing that.

  6. geoff Says:

    You’re right it is odd especially since he’s a wife beater.


  7. where did you find this?! what an awesome video. best thing I’ve seen this year


Leave a Reply

